The 21st Unforgettable Gala Announces Host and Winners

With the Unforgettable Gala just around the corner on Dec. 16, attendees and onlookers alike have been curious about this year’s emcee and winners. Look no further. As reported in Variety, this year’s gala will be hosted by none other than “Barbie” star, Simu Liu. Additionally, the UNFO Awards Selection Committee Co-chairs Lisa Ling and Destin Daniel Cretton, will deliver a keynote address. Common Kings, along with a Broadway musical medley directed by Troy Laureta, are set to be the gala’s featured performances. Feeling the UNFO FOMO? We got you—for the first time, the gala will be live-streamed (and available for streaming at a later date) by AAPI TV network Chime TV

As for awards, the winners will be as follows:

Charles Melton, Actor in Film, “May December”
Steven Yeun, Actor in TV, “Beef”
Greta Lee, Breakout in Film, “Past Lives”
Young Mazino, Breakout in TV, “Beef”
Adele Lim, Director Award, “Joy Ride”
Lee Sung Jin, Writer Award, “Beef” 
Steven Lim, Digital Influencer Award
The cast of “Never Have I Ever,” Vanguard Award Cho Byeong Kyu, Global Breakout for One ASIA
Mackenyu, Global Groundbreaker for ONE ASIA
Alison Lee, Pechanga Athlete on Another Level

As for the Lexus Legacy Award, Shannon Lee will accept on the behalf of her late father, Bruce Lee, whose legacy we honor 50 years after his passing. Lee will also be featured as the cover story in this year’s annual print issue.

Character Media founder James Ryu said, “I’m incredibly proud of the resilience of both the Hollywood industry, as well as the entire Unforgettable Gala team for getting us to this moment.” Referring to the historical strikes by WGA and SAG-AFTRA, he notes, “We were able to push through these trials and make it to this year-end celebration–and on the original date that we set at the beginning of the year. It is such a testament to everyone’s dedication and commitment to our community, and it’s a blessing that we can’t take for granted.”