‘BEEF,’ ‘Past Lives’ and ‘May December’ Continue Their Awards Season Sweep

The 30th annual Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards, the 35th Producers Guild Awards and the 39th Film Independent Spirit Awards all took place during the weekend, with “BEEF” and “Past Lives” continuing their sweeps through awards season. 

Starting the weekend was the SAG Awards, held on Saturday at the Shrine Auditorium and Expo Hall. Its winners were determined by the 160,000 members of SAG-AFTRA, who voted on the recipients of this year’s trophies (or, “Actors,” as the union refers to them). This was the first year that the show was broadcast on the streaming service Netflix, which meant no ad breaks and, of course, no bleeps. Award darlings “Succession,” “The Bear” and “Oppenheimer” continued their streaks, all winning top categories. “BEEF” was no exception, with Steven Yeun and Ali Wong receiving awards for Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series and Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series, respectively.

The next day, the limited series also took home the David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited or Anthology Series Television at the PGA Awards, adding to the show’s trophy rack. 

Continuing the weekend’s marathon was the Film Independent Spirit Awards hosted by Aidy Bryant, who playfully roasted attendees like Charles Melton, Greta Lee and Natalie Portman. Both “Past Lives” and “May December” received five nominations each, while “BEEF” received three. “May December” took home Best First Screenplay, and “Past Lives” won Best Feature and Best Director, honoring first-time filmmaker, Celine Song. Similarly, “BEEF” took home two awards: Best New Scripted Series and Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series for Wong, ending their fruitful awards run.

With awards season soon coming to a close, “May December” and “Past Lives” are both nominated for Academy Awards – each of them competing for “Best Original Screenplay” and “Past Lives” fighting for Best Original Screenplay and Best Picture. Only time will tell if their winning streaks will continue on March 10.